Saab 9000 model in the design studio in Trollhättan

The challenge of the Saab 9000 - a long Saab film

In the spring of 1974, work began on the 9000 in Trollhättan. A completely new car and the way to a higher class. Behind the project was nothing less than the future positioning of the brand. Exciting, groundbreaking, and by no means easy.

Read more ...
Hengchi 1 with ultra-vision glass dome and displays for the rear passengers

Traditional luxury - the interior of Hengchi 1

Evergrande Auto wants to get the auto industry moving with the Hengchi brand. Expectations are high, but there is no revolution. But not the surprise. In the interior, Hengchi 1 is traditional and pampered with luxury reminiscent of the heyday

Read more ...
Saab 5-speed gearbox - here in the 900 from 1986 - never shifts particularly precisely

Quietly say goodbye - manual transmissions are disappearing

There are some things that drivers of the future will no longer be familiar with. Things that we are used to disappear. These include the manual gearbox, the ignition key, the mechanical handbrake or the suction cup navigation device. The smartphone takes over for the ignition key or navigation system. With manual

Read more ...
Elk test at Saab and Mercedes. Real life safety

Elk test Mercedes and Saab. Swedish real-life safety!

It is October 1997. The Swedish magazine Teknikens Värld is looking for the car of the year. She tests various new releases, everything works as in previous years. Until the Swedes launched the new A-Class from Mercedes

Read more ...
The medial state of the auto industry

Automobile monoculture is never good

Scandals shake the foundations of the German auto industry. First Dieselgate, now alleged antitrust violations. The horror never ends, and one of our country's key industries is at a crossroads. But it started many years ago.

Read more ...

SAAB 9-5 Sportcombi comparison test

What this blog is all about has fallen behind somewhat in the past few days. To make this clear, the team writes a fan blog and not an economic column.

Read more ...

Sweden Weekend. Swedish metal vs. German techno.

Or Volvo V40 vs Mercedes A class. In the UK, the Gothenburg-based car maker is driving a cheeky, crazy campaign. The text is reminiscent of Saab Marketing in the past when the legendary Saab vs …… advertisements were still available. Since there is currently no media activity from Trollhättan, at least Volvo is bringing some fun to our Swedish-inspired automotive soul.

Read more ...

Saab 9000 Modell im Designstudio in Trollhättan

Die Herausforderung des Saab 9000 – ein langer Saab Film

Im Frühjahr 1974 begannen in Trollhättan die Arbeiten am 9000. Ein komplett neues Auto und der Weg in eine höhere Klasse. Hinter dem Projekt stand nicht weniger als die zukünftige Positionierung der Marke. Aufregend, wegweisend, und keineswegs einfach.

Mehr lesen...
Hengchi 1 mit Ultra-Vision Glaskuppel und Displays für die Fond-Passagiere

Traditioneller Luxus – der Innenraum von Hengchi 1

Evergrande Auto will mit der Marke Hengchi Bewegung in die Autoindustrie bringen. Die Erwartungen sind hoch, doch eine Revolution bleibt aus. Nicht aber die Überraschung. Im Innenraum gibt sich Hengchi 1 traditionell und verwöhnt mit Luxus, der an die Glanzzeiten

Mehr lesen...
Saab 5 Gang Getriebe - hier im 900 von 1986 - nie besonders präzise zu schalten

Sage leise Lebewohl – manuelle Getriebe verschwinden

Einige Dinge wird der Autofahrer der Zukunft nicht mehr kennen. Dinge, an die wir uns gewöhnt haben, verschwinden. Dazu gehören das manuelle Getriebe, der Zündschlüssel, die mechanische Handbremse oder das Saugnapf-Navigationsgerät. Beim Zündschlüssel oder Navi übernimmt das Smartphone. Beim manuellen

Mehr lesen...
Elchtest bei Saab und Mercedes. Real Life Safety

Elchtest Mercedes und Saab. Schwedische Real-Life-Safety!

Es ist der Oktober 1997. Die schwedische Zeitschrift Teknikens Värld ist auf der Suche nach dem Auto des Jahres. Sie testet verschiedene Neuerscheinungen, alles läuft wie in den Jahren zuvor. Bis die Schweden die neue A-Klasse von Mercedes über den

Mehr lesen...
Der mediale Zustand der Autoindustrie

Automobile Monokultur ist niemals gut

Skandale erschüttern die Grundfeste der deutschen Autoindustrie. Zuerst Dieselgate, nun angebliche Kartellrechtsverstöße. Das Grauen nimmt keine Ende,  und eine Schlüsselindustrie unseres Landes steht am Scheideweg. Begonnen hatte es aber schon vor vielen Jahren.

Mehr lesen...

SAAB 9-5 Sportcombi Vergleichstest

Worum es auf diesem Blog eigentlich geht, geriet in den letzten Tagen etwas ins Hintertreffen. Das Team schreibt, um dies klar zu stellen, einen Fan Blog und keine Wirtschaftskolumne.

Mehr lesen...

Schweden Wochenende. Swedish metal vs. German techno.

Oder Volvo V40 vs Mercedes A Klasse. In Großbritannien fährt der Autobauer aus Göteborg eine freche Kampagne, die abgefahren ist. Der Text erinnert an Saab Marketing früherer Jahre, als es noch die mittlerweile legendäre Saab vs…… Anzeigen gab. Da es momentan aus Trollhättan keinerlei Medientätigkeit gibt, bringt wenigstens Volvo etwas Spass für unsere schwedisch angehauchte automobile Seele.

Mehr lesen...