Saab 9000 Turbo against Audi, Porsche, Jaguar and Ford

An impossible comparison? Saab against Porsche, Jaguar and Audi.

In the fall of 1991, the Spotlight editorial team in Sweden made a seemingly impossible comparison. The new Saab 9000 against the Jaguar XJ, Audi 100, Porsche 911 and Ford Scorpio. The Porsche as a sports car icon, the XJ an epitome of British luxury. Opposed

Read more ...
Saab and the six-cylinder. The V6 in the 9000. Forced by GM? Image: Saab Automobile AB

Saab and the six-cylinder. Rumors and truths. (1)

Saab and the six-cylinder. A relationship that has never been easy. The first six-cylinder moved into the 1993 II and 900 from 9000. A GM unit, which quickly earned the reputation of the engine under pressure from the Americans

Read more ...

Ford, Renault and Alfa Romeo in Geneva

At the end of our virtual tour of the fair, the focus is on two dream cars at a reasonably feasible price and a refreshing small car concept from France. Ford shows us the new, even sharper Mustang in Geneva, matching the 50th anniversary of the original model.

Read more ...

Rearview mirror: Sweden under ice

"The situation in Sweden is grim, in Europe it is only worse in Greece than in Sweden", wrote Sweden's leading business newspaper, Dagens Industri, a few days ago. Is it because of the long, cold and dark Swedish winter, the

Read more ...

SAAB Talk: Car Crisis

SAAB Talk: Car Crisis. Volvo, the other Swedish brand, will not rest. But from Saab-City comes at least some good news as a contrast to the bad industry news that drag like a skid mark across Europe. Before we start a brief foray into the car industry, let's take a look at our favorite Qoros.

Read more ...

Saab News: The third Saab investor

Yesterday we wrote about the new Saab ownership structure. Besides the well-known investors Pang Da and Youngman there will be a third partner. This is to acquire 20% of the shares in the Saab Automobile AB.

Read more ...

Saab: November storm over southern Sweden

Update 10: 06 / 12: 07 Yesterday a November storm raged over southern Sweden, which also visited Trollhättan and there caused damage. A bad omen for our carmaker? Maybe, because in Sweden, Saab has a lot in the bag or hangs, as we do

Read more ...

Saab 9000 Turbo gegen Audi, Porsche, Jaguar und Ford

Ein unmöglicher Vergleich? Saab gegen Porsche, Jaguar und Audi.

Im Herbst 1991 drehte die Spotlight-Redaktion in Schweden einen scheinbar unmöglichen Vergleich. Der neue Saab 9000 gegen den Jaguar XJ, Audi 100, Porsche 911 und Ford Scorpio. Der Porsche als Sportwagen-Ikone, der XJ ein Inbegriff von britischem Luxus. Dagegen stand

Mehr lesen...
Saab und die Sechszylinder. Der V6 im 9000. Von GM aufgezwungen? Bild: Saab Automobile AB

Saab und die Sechszylinder. Gerüchte und Wahrheiten. (1)

Saab und der Sechszylinder. Eine Beziehung, die nie ganz einfach war. Der erste Sechszylinder zog ab 1993 in den 900 II und den 9000 ein. Ein GM Aggregat, was der Motorisierung schnell den Ruf einbrachte,  auf Druck der Amerikaner von

Mehr lesen...

Ford, Renault und Alfa Romeo in Genf

Zum Abschluss unserer virtuellen Messetour geht es um zwei Traumwagen zum halbwegs erfüllbaren Preis und um ein erfrischendes  Kleinwagenkonzept aus Frankreich. Ford zeigt uns in Genf den neuen, noch schärferen Mustang, passend zum 50 jährigen Jubiläum des Urmodells.

Mehr lesen...

Rückspiegel: Schweden unter Eis

“Die Lage in Schweden ist düster, in Europa ist sie nur noch in Griechenland schlechter als in Schweden” so schrieb die die führende Wirtschaftszeitung Schwedens, Dagens Industri, vor einigen Tagen. Liegt es am langen, kalten und dunklen schwedischen Winter, der

Mehr lesen...

SAAB Talk: Autokrise

SAAB Talk: Autokrise. Volvo, die andere schwedische Marke, kommt nicht zur Ruhe. Aber aus Saab-City kommen wenigstens einige gute Nachrichten als Kontrast zu den schlechten Branchen-News die sich wie eine Bremsspur quer durch Europa ziehen. Bevor wir einen kurzen Streifzug durch die Autobranche starten werfen wir aber noch einen Blick auf unseren Lieblingschinesen Qoros.

Mehr lesen...

Saab News: Der dritte Saab Investor

Gestern haben wir über die neue Saab Eigentümerstruktur geschrieben. Neben den bekannten Investoren Pang Da und Youngman wird es einen dritten Partner geben. Dieser soll 20 % der Anteile an der Saab Automobile AB erwerben.

Mehr lesen...

Saab: Novembersturm über Südschweden

Update 10:06 / 12:07 Gestern tobte ein Novembersturm über Südschweden, welcher auch Trollhättan besuchte und dort Schäden anrichtete. Ein schlechtes Omen für unseren Autobauer ? Vielleicht, denn in Schweden steht für Saab vieles auf der Kippe oder hängt, wie wir

Mehr lesen...