Minimalist - lots of light, space and glass

What happened if? Saab X_Ray Vision by Anders Warming

Oh, Saab. The brand won't let go. She is missing. There are people who want to see new Saab on the streets again. Designer Anders Warming looked into the brand. He wondered what if - if

Read more ...
NEVS 9-3 EV found on WeChat

Saab DNA (still) well distributed

A NEVS 9-3 EV in the wild. A rare picture, somewhere in China, probably in the mega-city of Tianjin. The 9-3 has changed in recent years, but can still be recognized as a Saab - despite facelift and newer,

Read more ...
NEVS Trollhattan

Rumors and Chinese standards

A rumor. And what one! On Friday it spread in the media at lightning speed. According to the content, NEVS would build cars again in Trollhättan - and that as early as the 2nd quarter of 2018. A story too good to be

Read more ...
Geneva Motor Show. Newcomer Qoros.

The difficulty of establishing a new car brand

Do we remember qoros? The brand was featured on the blog several times in 2013. Former Saab employees, especially a former press officer, moved to China. An Israeli-Chinese consortium tried to build a new car brand with the help of deserving European veterans.

Read more ...
Saab Turbo in 99

Who invented it?

Opportunity for some car-talk. The view over our Saabian Tellerand we had in recent weeks barely, which has a reason. Let's start with a question. Which production vehicle had the world's first turbocharger with water injection?

Read more ...
Borgward lives. Really.

Borgward lives

The summer slump is on its way, and this year it seems particularly extensive. Marcus and Manuela report daily from the IntSaab in Norway, and today I am daring a trip to another brand. Which is worth reading even if

Read more ...

Beiijing Auto - Borgward - Porsche

On Monday we have guaranteed good Saab news on the blog. Before that, a short look into the wide world, especially to China, is on the agenda. The good old Saab engines with the unique Trionic continue their careers. Now comes

Read more ...

View over the (Saab) Tellerrand

NEVS wants to leave the reconstruction in the next week. At the same time, further decisions are to be made public. That could be exciting ... Before that we still have enough time to think outside the box again ...

Read more ...

Geneva Motor Show 2015

Mark and I broke with tradition this year and didn't go to Geneva. Why? Maybe because Saab's heart is still beating and because the hope of a resurrection of the brand is less than ever. The

Read more ...

Borgward answers

…at least a bit. And a former Saab design chief is now chief designer at Borgward. But one after anonther ! A booth at the Geneva Motor Show, a new website, a newly designed logo. Borgward makes it exciting.

Read more ...

Perspective Trollhättan?

A quick look (not only) into the wintry north. The automotive location Trollhättan, its future - it is difficult to make a forecast. But something is happening and somehow it raises further questions for me.

Read more ...

The seeds of failure

Last week, we asked readers for their opinion on the future prospects of NEVS. The result can be considered historical, because for the first time a large majority saw the failure of NEVS before their eyes.

Read more ...

NEVS 9-3 EV gefunden auf WeChat

Saab DNA (noch) gut verteilt

Ein NEVS 9-3 EV in freier Wildbahn. Ein seltenes Bild, irgendwo in China, vermutlich in der Mega-City Tianjin. Der 9-3 hat sich in den letzten Jahren verändert, ist aber immer noch als Saab zu erkennen – trotz Facelift und neuer,

Mehr lesen...
NEVS Trollhättan

Gerüchte und Chinesische Verhältnisse

Ein Gerücht. Und was für eines ! Am Freitag verbreitete es sich in Windeseile in den Medien. NEVS würde, so der Inhalt, in Trollhättan wieder Autos bauen – und das bereits im 2. Quartal 2018. Eine Geschichte, zu gut,  um

Mehr lesen...
Genfer Autosalon. Newcomer Qoros.

Von der Schwierigkeit, eine neue Automarke zu etablieren

Erinnern wir uns Qoros? Die Marke war 2013 schon öfters Thema auf dem Blog. Ehemalige Saab Mitarbeiter, allen voran ein ehemaliger Pressechef, zog es nach China. Ein israelisch-chinesisches Konsortium versuchte mit Hilfe verdienter europäischer Veteranen,  eine neue Automarke zu aufzubauen.

Mehr lesen...
Saab Turbo im 99

Wer hats erfunden?

Gelegenheit für etwas Auto-Talk. Den Blick über unseren saabischen Tellerand hatten wir in den letzten Wochen kaum noch, was einen Grund hat. Beginnen wir mit einer Frage. Welches Serienfahrzeug hatte weltweit als Erstes Turboaufladung mit Wassereinspritzung?

Mehr lesen...
Borgward lebt. Echt.

Borgward lebt

Das Sommerloch ist unterwegs,  und in diesem Jahr scheint es besonders umfassend zu sein. Marcus und Manuela berichten täglich von der IntSaab in Norwegen, und ich wage heute einen Ausflug zu einer anderen Marke. Was auch dann lesenswert ist, wenn

Mehr lesen...

Beiijing Auto – Borgward – Porsche

Am Montag haben wir garantiert gute Saab Nachrichten auf dem Blog. Zuvor steht ein kurzer Blick in die weite Welt, vor allem nach China, auf dem Programm. Die guten alten Saab-Motoren mit der einzigartigen Trionic machen weiter Karriere. Jetzt kommt

Mehr lesen...

Blick über den (Saab) Tellerrand

In der nächsten Woche will NEVS die Rekonstruktion verlassen. Gleichzeitig sollen weitere Entscheidungen öffentlich gemacht werden.  Das könnte spannend werden… Zuvor haben wir noch genug Zeit, um mal wieder über den Saab Tellerrand zu schauen…

Mehr lesen...

Genfer Autosalon 2015

Mark und ich haben in diesem Jahr mit einer Tradition gebrochen und sind nicht nach Genf gereist. Warum? Vielleicht,  weil das Herz immer noch Saab schlägt und weil die Hoffnung auf eine Wiederauferstehung der Marke geringer denn je ist. Das

Mehr lesen...

Borgward meldet sich zurück

…zumindest ein wenig. Und ein ehemaliger Saab Designchef ist jetzt bei Borgward Chefdesigner. Aber der Reihe nach ! Ein Stand auf dem Genfer Automobil Salon, eine neue Website, ein neu designtes Logo. Borgward macht es spannend.

Mehr lesen...

Perspektive Trollhättan?

Ein rascher Blick (nicht nur) in den winterlichen Norden. Der Automobilstandort Trollhättan, seine Zukunft – eine Prognose ist schwer. Aber es tut sich was, und irgendwie wirft das bei mir weitere Fragen auf.

Mehr lesen...

Die Saat des Scheiterns

In der letzten Woche befragten wir die Leser nach ihrer Meinung zu den Zukunftsaussichten bei NEVS. Das Ergebnis kann als historisch gelten, denn zum ersten Mal sah eine breite Mehrheit das Scheitern von NEVS vor den Augen.

Mehr lesen...