Makes the Golf class interesting - new DS 4

Big car brands - the return of the dream factory?

If the pandemic did not determine our everyday life, the birth of Stellantis would not have happened so silently. The merger of PSA and FCA Group brings a new automotive giant that has many big, old car brands in its portfolio.

Read more ...

Saab and Mahindra - the nightmare that never became real

Nightmares reflect unprocessed events and can come back again and again. Saab affine people know the Christmas nightmare. It haunted Trollhättan in 2009 and 2011. First, when GM wanted to liquidate the brand. Then two years later, when Saab turned himself towards Valhalla

Read more ...
Saab 9000 model in the design studio in Trollhättan

The challenge of the Saab 9000 - a long Saab film

In the spring of 1974, work began on the 9000 in Trollhättan. A completely new car and the way to a higher class. Behind the project was nothing less than the future positioning of the brand. Exciting, groundbreaking, and by no means easy.

Read more ...
Saab 9-3 - of course in black

Saab, Saab or Saab - the way back

For those of you who haven't read my previous posts, “What Happened So Far”. So my very first car was a used Saab 99 GL and consequently my second was a brand new Saab 900 GL. Of course, once Saab, always Saab. Almost.

Read more ...
Bella Italia - a Saab 9000 Aero

Bella Italia - a dreamlike Saab 9000 Aero

Italy, the land of legendary car brands. But also the land of strange laws. Vehicles with more than 2 liters of displacement could not previously be tax deductible. This led to special models that are only available for this beautiful country

Read more ...
Saab 5-speed gearbox - here in the 900 from 1986 - never shifts particularly precisely

Quietly say goodbye - manual transmissions are disappearing

There are some things that drivers of the future will no longer be familiar with. Things that we are used to disappear. These include the manual gearbox, the ignition key, the mechanical handbrake or the suction cup navigation device. The smartphone takes over for the ignition key or navigation system. With manual

Read more ...

Volvo or Saab, or Alfa Romeo?

In the past, yes, the world was still in order. It was usually only a matter of deciding between two options. When skiing between Alpine or Nordic, on vacation between the sea or the Alps, when shopping between Coop or Migros. Of the

Read more ...
Saab 900 II. A six-cylinder in the middle class. Image: Saab Automobile AB

Saab and the six-cylinder. A VW VR6 for Sweden. (2)

Volkswagen in the 80s. Do you have compact V6 engines for transverse installation in the program? And do you want to sell them to an equally aspiring competitor? “Not really” will now be the answer. And that shows how wrong you can be

Read more ...
Alfa Romeo meets Saab. Snapshot in Essen.

In four acts: The Alfa Romeo crisis

8:00 a.m., somewhere in the deepest rush hour traffic of Düsseldorf, the almost endlessly long metal avalanches are slowly but surely pushing from intersection to intersection. Traffic is an imposition in these minutes, and so the (perhaps) only Saab attracts

Read more ...
2 x Saab, ready for the Histo Monte.

Histo Monte 2017. Classic City Gleanings.

Our readers were very close to the AvD Histo Monte. The Saab 99 team with Robert and Gerd Wagenheimer reported daily from the track and delivered current pictures. Place 31 after 1.730 exciting kilometers was a very respectable result.

Read more ...
Saab 9-3 II Convertible

How I came to Saab ...

There was a time when there was only room for Alfa's in my garage. Nice but diva-like. Every time I put my ignition key in the left lock, you had to say a little quick prayer. Usually it started, but not always….

Read more ...

Ford, Renault and Alfa Romeo in Geneva

At the end of our virtual tour of the fair, the focus is on two dream cars at a reasonably feasible price and a refreshing small car concept from France. Ford shows us the new, even sharper Mustang in Geneva, matching the 50th anniversary of the original model.

Read more ...

Geneva Motor Show. The sporty Jaguar F-Type and Alfa C4

Jaguar has a good run. A new engine plant will be built in the UK and the new F-Type will noticeably rejuvenate the brand image. In just a few weeks, the new, small Jaguar sports car will be available for sale. In Geneva, a visit to Jaguar was compulsory

Read more ...

Macht die Golf Klasse interessant - neuer DS 4

Große Automarken – die Rückkehr der Traumfabrik?

Würde die Pandemie nicht unseren Alltag bestimmen, die Geburt von Stellantis wäre nicht so geräuschlos über die Bühne gegangen. Der Zusammenschluss von PSA und FCA Konzern bringt einen neuen automobilen Riesen, der viele große, alte Automarken in seinem Portfolio hat.

Mehr lesen...

Saab und Mahindra – der nie real gewordene Albtraum

Albträume reflektieren unverarbeitetes Geschehen und können immer wieder kommen. Saab affine Menschen kennen den Weihnachts-Albtraum. Der suchte Trollhättan 2009 und 2011 heim. Zuerst, als GM die Marke abwickeln wollte. Zwei Jahre später dann, als Saab sich selbst in Richtung Walhall

Mehr lesen...
Saab 9000 Modell im Designstudio in Trollhättan

Die Herausforderung des Saab 9000 – ein langer Saab Film

Im Frühjahr 1974 begannen in Trollhättan die Arbeiten am 9000. Ein komplett neues Auto und der Weg in eine höhere Klasse. Hinter dem Projekt stand nicht weniger als die zukünftige Positionierung der Marke. Aufregend, wegweisend, und keineswegs einfach.

Mehr lesen...
Saab 9-3 - natürlich in Schwarz

Saab, Saab oder Saab – Der Weg zurück

Für alle, die meine vorherigen Beiträge nicht gelesen haben, „Was bisher geschah“. Mein allererstes Auto war also ein gebrauchter Saab 99 GL und folglich mein zweites ein fabrikneuer Saab 900 GL. Versteht sich, einmal Saab, immer Saab. Na ja, fast.

Mehr lesen...
Bella Italia - ein Saab 9000 Aero

Bella Italia – ein traumhafter Saab 9000 Aero

Italien, das Land der legendären Automarken. Aber auch das Land der merkwürdigen Gesetze. Fahrzeuge mit mehr als 2 Litern Hubraum konnten früher nicht von der Steuer abgesetzt werden. Das führte zu speziellen Modellen, die es nur für dieses wunderschöne Land

Mehr lesen...
Saab 5 Gang Getriebe - hier im 900 von 1986 - nie besonders präzise zu schalten

Sage leise Lebewohl – manuelle Getriebe verschwinden

Einige Dinge wird der Autofahrer der Zukunft nicht mehr kennen. Dinge, an die wir uns gewöhnt haben, verschwinden. Dazu gehören das manuelle Getriebe, der Zündschlüssel, die mechanische Handbremse oder das Saugnapf-Navigationsgerät. Beim Zündschlüssel oder Navi übernimmt das Smartphone. Beim manuellen

Mehr lesen...

Volvo oder Saab, oder doch Alfa Romeo?

Früher, ja früher war die Welt noch in Ordnung. Es galt sich meist nur zwischen jeweils zwei Optionen zu entscheiden. Beim Skilaufen zwischen Alpin oder Nordisch, bei den Ferien zwischen Meer oder Alpen, beim Einkaufen zwischen Coop oder Migros. Der

Mehr lesen...
Saab 900 II. Ein Sechszylinder in der Mittelklasse. Bild: Saab Automobile AB

Saab und die Sechszylinder. Ein VW VR6 für Schweden. (2)

Volkswagen in den 80er Jahren. Hat man kompakte V6 Motoren für den Quereinbau im Programm? Und hat man Lust,  sie an einen ebenfalls aufstrebenden Mitbewerber zu verkaufen? “Eigentlich nicht” wird jetzt die Antwort lauten. Und die zeigt, wie falsch man

Mehr lesen...
Alfa Romeo trifft Saab. Momentaufnahme in Essen.

In vier Akten: Die Krise von Alfa Romeo

8:00 Uhr morgens, irgendwo im tiefsten Rushhour Verkehr von Düsseldorf schieben sich die schier unendlich langen Blechlawinen langsam, aber sicher von Kreuzung zu Kreuzung. Der Verkehr ist in diesen Minuten eine Zumutung, und so zieht der (vielleicht) einzige Saab an

Mehr lesen...
2 x Saab, bereit für die Histo Monte.

Histo Monte 2017. Klassik Stadt Nachlese.

Unsere Leser waren bei der AvD Histo Monte hautnah dabei. Das Saab 99 Team mit Robert und Gerd Wagenheimer berichtete täglich von der Strecke und lieferte aktuelle Bilder. Platz 31 nach 1.730 spannenden Kilometern war ein sehr respektables Ergebnis.

Mehr lesen...
Saab 9-3 II Cabriolet

Wie ich zu Saab kam…

Es gab eine Zeit, da war in meiner Garage nur Platz für Alfa’s. Schön aber divenhaft. Jedes mal wenn ich meinen Zündschlüssel links ins Schloss steckte, musste man ein kleines Stoßgebet loswerden. Meist sprang er an, aber eben nicht immer….

Mehr lesen...

Ford, Renault und Alfa Romeo in Genf

Zum Abschluss unserer virtuellen Messetour geht es um zwei Traumwagen zum halbwegs erfüllbaren Preis und um ein erfrischendes  Kleinwagenkonzept aus Frankreich. Ford zeigt uns in Genf den neuen, noch schärferen Mustang, passend zum 50 jährigen Jubiläum des Urmodells.

Mehr lesen...

Autosalon Genf. Die Sportlichen Jaguar F-Type und Alfa C4

Jaguar hat einen guten Lauf. In Großbritannien entsteht ein neues Motorenwerk und der neue F-Type wird das Markenimage spürbar verjüngen. In wenigen Wochen kommt der neue, kleine Jaguar Sportwagen in den Handel. In Genf war ein Besuch bei Jaguar Pflicht

Mehr lesen...