Saab project 102 in August 1989. Image: Saab Automobile AB

Saab 900 II saga. Project 102.

Money is tight with Saab's automotive division. In the late 80s the coffers are empty and investments are being postponed. You have to get by with what you have and, if in doubt, redesign it. For engines and gearboxes, for example.

Read more ...
TCS system in the Saab 9000

Saab Film Archive. TCS in the Saab 9000 CC Turbo.

At the end of the week, a deep grip on the Saab film archive. Saab 9000 CC Turbo without TCS, versus CC with TCS system. Saab tests traction control on snowy, wintry roads. And makes the turbo needle shake ...

Read more ...
Saab 9000i on the trailer

Saab 9000 CC Adventure ... reload

A few days ago I read a good sentence about old cars: We are only temporary trustees, responsible for handing them over to the hands that follow us. There is truth in there. Another thing is whether old

Read more ...
Saab-Scania Image film 1989

Technology group. Saab Scania Image Film 1989!

Maybe it was the good time for Saab. Or maybe not, because the crises of the 80er years forced Saab to sell the car business. At the time, the Saab-Scania Group was broad-based. Aircraft, satellites, buses, trucks and cars construction. Even computers made the Swedes and set up some data center at that time.

Read more ...

Saab Projekt 102 im August 1989. Bild: Saab Automobile AB

Saab 900 II Saga. Projekt 102.

Geld ist knapp bei der Automobilabteilung von Saab. In den späten 80er Jahren sind die Kassen leer und Investitionen werden aufgeschoben. Man muss mit dem auskommen,  was man hat und im Zweifelsfall eben umkonstruieren. Bei Motoren und Getrieben zum Beispiel.

Mehr lesen...
TCS System im Saab 9000

Saab Filmarchiv. TCS im Saab 9000 CC Turbo.

Zum Wochenausklang ein tiefer Griff in das Saab Filmarchiv. Saab 9000 CC Turbo ohne TCS, versus CC mit TCS System. Saab testet die Traktionskontrolle auf verschneiten, winterlichen Straßen. Und lässt dabei die Turbonadel zittern…

Mehr lesen...
Saab 9000i auf dem Hänger

Saab 9000 CC Abenteuer …reload

Vor Tagen habe ich einen guten Satz in Bezug auf alte Autos gelesen: Wir sind nur Treuhänder auf Zeit, dafür verantwortlich,  sie gut in die uns nachfolgenden Hände zu übergeben. Da liegt Wahrheit drin. Eine andere Sache ist, ob alte

Mehr lesen...
Saab-Scania Image Film 1989

Technologie Konzern. Saab-Scania Image Film 1989!

Vielleicht war es die gute Zeit für Saab. Vielleicht aber auch nicht, denn die Krisen der 80er Jahre zwangen Saab zum Verkauf der Autosparte. Der Saab-Scania Konzern war damals breit aufgestellt. Flugzeuge, Satelliten, Busse, LKW- und PKW Bau. Sogar Computer fertigten die Schweden und richteten damals manches Rechenzentrum ein.

Mehr lesen...