Saab 9000 CD Rescue (2)

Writing about maintaining the value of older cars has become a sociopolitical statement. It wasn't always like that, especially not in 2011 when I started writing. Times have changed, and so is the preservation of old vehicles

Read more ...
Saab 9000 CD, the least popular version of the great Sweden

A Saab 9000 CD Rescue (Part 1)

Life is not always fair. Above all, it is not objective, because otherwise the Saab 9000 CD would be a car that ranked high on the popularity scale. The opposite is the case. The 9k with the trunk

Read more ...
A Saab engine in the Holden Commodore. Photo Credit: Neil Pogson

The Holden-Saab story

When I bought my first Saab, a classic 1992 S Sport, in 900, the new 9000 CS was already rolling into the showrooms. With Trionic engines, unique, and probably the most advanced thing you could have for money back then.

Read more ...
On the grounds of the classic city of Frankfurt

Saab 9000 CSE 2.3 turbo. A test drive story.

The sky is cloudy over the Rhine-Main area. No ray of sun breaks through the clouds when Max and I set off for a 9000 test drive. Shortly before Christmas I got the unexpected offer to replace Max's stolen Anniversary with an interesting 9k.

Read more ...
Climate control in the Saab 9000

Saab 9000, heat and automatic climate control

The automatic climate control of the 9000 was one of the most innovative solutions on the market at the time of its release. The Italians, with Lancia Thema, Alfa 164 and Fiat Croma set in the development on partner Borletti. Saab, on the other hand, teamed up with Alps

Read more ...
Saab 9000 cockpit with new EDU

Saab 9000 and the EDU

As the days get hotter, the thermometer climbs above 35 degrees. High summer in Germany, and the 9000 is doing really well. While significantly younger vehicles give up in the heat, the old Swedish lady seems unimpressed. That changes in one

Read more ...
4433810 in the 9000 relay box

Saab 4433801 stories

80 and 90 years, cars often suffer from electronics problems. When a brand from the Cologne area, the wiring harnesses dissolve. At a Bavarian supplier, electronic defects drive the driver crazy. Saab has relatively little to do with it

Read more ...
The last Saab 9000 in the museum. On the 6. May 1998 was over.

6. May 1998. The last Saab 9000 is off the line.

The 6. May 1998 was a dreary, rainy day. Trollhättan's local paper read an unusual death notice. The Saab 9000, loved and appreciated, was no longer produced. An obituary of all those looking for this extraordinary vehicle

Read more ...
Anna 2015

Happy Birthday! Finally 20 years!

Birthday, 20 years, finally ... On March 30th the time had come. The Saab 9000 Anna project and its midnight blue, still nameless relative turned 20. Together they rolled off the assembly line in Trollhättan on the same day, came to Germany, and then parted ways

Read more ...
Anna project in January 2018

Saab 9000. Driving dynamics or dromedary?

It's autumn now. The Anna Project has a workshop appointment in Frankfurt, the air conditioner licks, which was not so pleasant in summer temperatures. Now also the dampers are exchanged, and at the pickup I'm curious like a little boy,

Read more ...
Saab 9000, our Anna project, with center armrest.

Saab 9000 center armrest for retrofitting

If you ask what I saw from Saab this winter, then there is an answer: drove Saab 9000. In self-experiment with a Saab classic through the dark and cold seasons. Does it work? The answer comes in

Read more ...
Cockpit Saab 9000 CSE Anniversary Features 1998.

Saab 9000. The current market situation.

In the last few months we have repeatedly written about the origin of the first big Saab. Its creation, innovations, the long production time. The 9000 had told us a lot about the Saab brand and its most exciting years.

Read more ...
Saab 9000 at dawn

Saab and dawn in amethyst violet

Dear Readers, As so often, we move our vehicles in the cold season. Thanks to heated seats and very good heating. I find it all the more beautiful when nature reflects our mood.

Read more ...
23 years

Why 3 times 95 plus deer results in 9000 that is still far from being felt…

Part 3: 1000 km in a row to Croatia Dear readers, As I wrote in the first and second reports some time ago, it was a long way for me to the Swedish brand. Meanwhile, I was the proud owner of two Saabs.

Read more ...
Saab 9000 Aero. Image: Saab Automobile AB

Saab 9000. Björn Envall gives the world a wedge.

1990 is one of the fateful years at Saab. GM gets in and immediately goes to the most important construction sites. The new plant in Malmö, whose construction was a political decision, will be closed 18 months after its inauguration.

Read more ...

Saab 9000 CD Rettung (2)

Über den Werterhalt älterer Autos zu schreiben ist zum gesellschaftspolitischen Statement geworden. Das war nicht immer so, schon gar nicht im Jahr 2011,  als ich mit dem Schreiben begann. Die Zeiten haben sich gewandelt, das Bewahren alter Fahrzeuge ist auch

Mehr lesen...
Saab 9000 CD, die am wenigsten beliebte Version des großen Schweden

Eine Saab 9000 CD Rettung (Teil 1)

Das Leben ist nicht immer fair. Vor allem ist es nicht objektiv, denn sonst wäre der Saab 9000 CD ein Auto, das auf der Beliebtheitsskala weit oben rangieren würde. Das Gegenteil aber ist der Fall. Der 9k mit dem Kofferraum

Mehr lesen...
Ein Saab Motor im Holden Commodore. Foto Credit: Neil Pogson

Die Holden-Saab Geschichte

Als ich 1992 meinen ersten Saab, einen klassischen 900 S Sport kaufte, rollten die neuen 9000 CS schon in die Ausstellungsräume. Mit Trionic-Motoren, einzigartig, und wohl mit das Fortschrittlichste,  was man damals für Geld haben konnte.

Mehr lesen...
Auf dem Gelände der Klassikstadt Frankfurt

Saab 9000 CSE 2.3 Turbo. Eine Probefahrt-Geschichte.

Der Himmel ist trübe über dem Rhein-Main Gebiet. Kein Sonnenstrahl durchbricht die Wolken,  als Max und ich zur 9000 Probefahrt aufbrechen. Kurz vor Weihnachten bekam ich unverhofft das Angebot,  mit einem interessanten 9k den gestohlenen Anniversary von Max zu ersetzen.

Mehr lesen...
Klimaautomatik im Saab 9000

Saab 9000, Hitze und die Klimaautomatik

Die Klimaautomatik des 9000 war zum Zeitpunkt ihres Erscheinens eine der innovativsten Lösungen auf dem Markt. Die Italiener, mit Lancia Thema, Alfa 164 und Fiat Croma setzten bei der Entwicklung auf Partner Borletti. Saab hingegen tat sich mit Alps zusammen

Mehr lesen...
Saab 9000 Cockpit mit neuem EDU

Saab 9000 und das EDU

Die Tage werden heißer, das Thermometer klettert auf über 35 Grad. Hochsommer in Deutschland, und der 9000 schlägt sich wirklich gut. Während erheblich jüngere Fahrzeuge in der Hitze aufgeben, scheint die alte schwedische Dame unbeeindruckt. Das ändert sich an einem

Mehr lesen...
4433810 im 9000 Relaiskasten

Saab 4433801 Geschichten

Autos der 80er und 90er Jahren leiden oft an Elektronikproblemen. Bei einer Marke aus dem Kölner Raum lösen sich die Kabelbäume auf. Bei einem bayerischen Anbieter treiben elektronische Defekte den Fahrer in den Wahnsinn. Saab hat damit relativ wenig zu

Mehr lesen...
Der letzte Saab 9000 im Museum. Am 6. Mai 1998 war Schluß.

6. Mai 1998. Der letzte Saab 9000 läuft vom Band.

Der 6. Mai 1998 war ein trister, regnerischer Tag. In der Lokalzeitung von Trollhättan gab es eine ungewöhnliche Todesnachricht zu lesen. Der Saab 9000, geliebt und geschätzt, wurde nicht länger produziert. Ein Nachruf von all denen, die dieses außergewöhnliche Fahrzeug

Mehr lesen...
Anna 2015

Happy Birthday! Endlich 20 Jahre!

Geburtstag, 20 Jahre, endlich…  Am 30. März war es soweit. Das Saab 9000 Anna Projekt und sein mitternachtsblauer, immer noch namenloser Verwandter wurden 20. Gemeinsam liefen sie am selben Tag in Trollhättan vom Band, kamen nach Deutschland,  und dann trennten

Mehr lesen...
Anna Projekt im Januar 2018

Saab 9000. Fahrdynamik oder Dromedar?

Mittlerweile ist es Herbst. Das Anna Projekt hat einen Werkstatt-Termin in Frankfurt, die Klimaanlage leckt, was bei sommerlichen Temperaturen nicht so angenehm war. Jetzt werden auch die Dämpfer getauscht, und bei der Abholung bin ich gespannt wie ein kleiner Junge,

Mehr lesen...
Saab 9000, unser Anna Projekt, mit Mittelarmlehne.

Saab 9000 Mittelarmlehne zum Nachrüsten

Wenn man fragt, was ich in diesem Winter aus Saab Sicht gemacht habe, dann gibt es eine Antwort: bin Saab 9000 gefahren. Im Selbstversuch mit einem Saab Klassiker durch die dunkle und kalte Jahreszeit. Funktioniert das? Die Antwort kommt in

Mehr lesen...
Cockpit Saab 9000 CSE Anniversary Ausstattung 1998.

Saab 9000. Die aktuelle Marktlage.

Wir haben in den letzten Monaten immer wieder über die Herkunft des ersten großen Saabs geschrieben. Seine Entstehung,  Innovationen, die lange Produktionszeit. Der 9000 hatte uns viel über die Marke Saab und ihre spannendsten Jahre erzählt.

Mehr lesen...
Saab 9000 im Morgengrauen

Saab und Morgengrauen in Amethystviolett

Liebe Leser, wie so oft bewegen wir unsere Fahrzeuge in der kalten Jahreszeit. Dank Sitzheizung und überaus guter Heizung. Um so schöner finde ich es, wenn die Natur unsere Stimmung wiedergibt.

Mehr lesen...
23 Jahre alt

Warum 3mal 95 plus Hirsch, noch lange nicht gefühlte 9000 ergibt…

Teil 3:  1000 km am Stück nach Kroatien Liebe Leser, wie ich schon vor einiger Zeit im ersten und zweiten Bericht schrieb, war es für mich ein langer Weg zu der schwedischen Marke. Mittlerweile war ich stolzer Besitzer zweier Saabs.

Mehr lesen...
Saab 9000 Aero. Bild: Saab Automobile AB

Saab 9000. Björn Envall schenkt der Welt einen Keil.

1990 ist eines der Schicksalsjahre bei Saab. GM steigt ein und geht sofort die wichtigsten Baustellen an. Das neue Werk in Malmö, dessen Bau eine politische Entscheidung war, wird 18 Monate nach seiner Einweihung geschlossen.

Mehr lesen...